Medicare Home DME MAC Jurisdiction C Home Health & Hospice Kentucky Part B Ohio Part B Kentucky & Ohio Part A
Skip Navigation

Send this page to a colleague

Recovery Audit Contractor Program

The Medicare Modernization Act of 2003 (MMA) mandated that the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) establish the Recovery Audit Contractor (RAC) program as a three-year demonstration. The demonstration began March 2005 in California, Florida, and New York. In 2007, the program expanded to include Massachusetts, Arizona, and South Carolina before ending on March 27, 2008. The success of the demonstration resulted in the passage of legislation in the Tax Relief and Healthcare Act of 2006, Section 302, which required CMS to establish a National RAC Program by January 1, 2010.

For the most up to date information on recent findings, visit each RAC Contractors website often.

Providers are also encouraged to visit the CMS RAC website for updates on the National RAC Program. On that website, you can register to receive email updates and view current RAC activities nationwide.

An ISO 9001:2008 certified company

CGS Home | Site Maps | About Us | Disclaimer | Web Site Feedback | Contact Us

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services